Egg Coffee

Yes, you read that right! I’ve been on an egg kick recently – scrambled eggs, over easy, egg salad, chaffles (look up the hashtag on Instagram if you don’t know what I’m talking about!). I’ve also recently started adding a whole egg to my homemade hot coffee every day! Sometimes twice a day! I’ve been adding in egg whites to blend with my nut milk for quite some time, but I have some friends who I’ve seen add the yolk and I thought – why not just give that a try?

Note: I am not a doctor and I’m not instructing YOU to add raw egg to anything. If it grosses you out, if you’re just not comfortable, if you hate eggs – that’s totally cool. You do you, boo. No worries – I was grossed out at first, too! However, I’m trying to be more open to new experiences these days, and one day I woke up just decided that it was finally the time to try it. After all, I could always dump it and make a fresh cup, right? Right.

You might be thinking to yourself, raw egg will give me Salmonella! Well, per my Google research, if raw eggs are contaminated with the bacteria Salmonella, you could get sick. … HOWEVER, coffee at hot enough temperatures can bring your egg up to a safe temperature. Of course it’s not foolproof and the safest way to try egg coffee is to buy pasteurized eggs, which I always do, because they have been heated to help destroy bacteria. To this day I have not gotten sick from this. That’s all I can promise though, of course! Do not, I repeat, DO NOT crack an egg into your take away coffee. That won’t be fun for anyone. Save the egg coffee for when you’re at home and have a blender/frother on hand.

What are the benefits? Again, I’m not a medical professional so I’ll explain it as I personally see it.

  1. It tastes delicious, especially blended with unsweetened nut milk and a splash of skinny syrup. I don’t actually taste egg at all!
  2. The egg makes your coffee so luxuriously creamy!
  3. You get a bit of protein and healthy fat!

I make it two different ways, depending on my mood. Would you like to see?

The first way I tried egg coffee (see above) was what felt most natural to me – I added the yolk (the yellow) to my hot coffee and blended with my hand frother. I took the white and added it to my nut milk and skinny syrup (that was in a different container) and frothed it separately. Then I poured the nut milk-egg white mixture over the hot blended coffee.

The second way (above) is much more decadent, in my opinion. I prepare my coffee and set it aside. Then, in my fancy frother, I add in the nut milk, skinny syrup, and a whole egg (yolk + white). Close it up and blend on cold. Once it’s blended for a while and it tells me it’s ready, I blend it on hot. The result? A warm liquid-y custard! Pour that right in your coffee – it should have a slight yellow tint to it. I’m in love.

If you’d like a little more step by step guidance, I have videos saved to my Instagram highlights!

All in all, I like how egg coffee tastes and it’s macro-friendly, so I’m going to keep enjoying it! It’s really that simple. Would you give this a try?

Published by Brianna Ascher

Hi there, and welcome to my blog! Here you’ll find my ramblings with (I’m sure) an occasional rant, food photography, maybe some low carb/keto recipes, thoughts on safer beauty, pictures from my travels around the world, and hopefully a pinch of comedic relief! I’ve struggled a lot throughout my life - haven’t we all? From issues with family and romantic relationships to weight gain and skincare... it’s never been dull! If my experiences can help you, then I hope you can stick around!

2 thoughts on “Egg Coffee

  1. How much milk and skinny syrup do you use? I tried this today with 1/4 cup milk and 1 tbsp skinny syrup it was so good I’m going to make it the second way you posted tomorrow. 😁

    Like

    1. Yay! Let me know what you think! I don’t use dairy milk – I use unsweetened nut milk! It depends on the day but usually I use around 60mL. For the syrup that’s really up to you and how sweet you want it to be. It varies for me but usually 1-2 TBS. I also typically will make a large cup of coffee (12-15oz of just coffee plus the froth). If I made a smaller cup I would use less.

      Like

Leave a comment