Who am I, and why do my ideas matter?

Who am I, and why do my ideas matter to you? Honestly, they don’t have to matter much. I don’t have a requirement or a goal that my blog will reach X number of people. I just hope that my experiences and thoughts can help someone, even just one person. Whether it helps you get through your day, figure out what to make for dinner, or change your skincare or beauty routine to something safer – I’ll even settle for a smile! I suppose writing things down will help me, too.

I’m here because I’ve been through a lot. Like, a lot, a lot. I have some things I’d like to talk about, and I know that will always be the case. I’m not going to sit here and virtually preach at you that I have all the answers, that my trauma was worse than yours, etc. etc. Nope – I’m just here to tell you some stuff in the hopes that it helps me work through things and possibly helps you, too! At the very least, dear reader, know that you’re not alone. I’m here, too.

Long story short, my life while growing up consisted of having a mother who didn’t want to be my mother (and wasn’t) and a mixed bag of amazing and supportive family members who have always been there for me and family who I no longer have in my life. I wasn’t popular in school, but people knew who I was and I’d like to think I had a lot of friends, even if I never did settle into one group. I’ve always battled with self esteem, weight, and skin issues. I was cheated on a ton throughout my relationships. I’ve suffered verbal and physical abuse at the hands of people I’ve loved. I’ve dealt with having a terrible job, living pay check to pay check, eating disorders, weight gain, weight loss. I’m allergic to chlorine, most metals, gluten, avocado, all bug bites, and jerks. Well, I have a sensitivity to jerks.

Why am I blogging publicly, you might ask. Why not? I’m not trying to hide anything.

What topics do I think I’ll write about? My life, including but not limited to: my way of eating (keto/low carb); recipes and food photography; traveling; struggles; safer skincare and beauty – who knows? Not I!

I’m a firm believer that you can never have enough true friends. If I blog successfully throughout the next year and beyond, I would hope to have helped/inspired/encouraged or at least made one person go, “huh, hadn’t considered that before.”

How am I doing?

Published by Brianna Ascher

Hi there, and welcome to my blog! Here you’ll find my ramblings with (I’m sure) an occasional rant, food photography, maybe some low carb/keto recipes, thoughts on safer beauty, pictures from my travels around the world, and hopefully a pinch of comedic relief! I’ve struggled a lot throughout my life - haven’t we all? From issues with family and romantic relationships to weight gain and skincare... it’s never been dull! If my experiences can help you, then I hope you can stick around!

Leave a comment